•  Award Categories  

  • Single Books Category

The "Single Books" category relates to the translation of a single book, which fulfills the conditions stipulated in this category.


Supported languages

  • Translation from Arabic to French
  • Translation from French to Arabic
  • Translation from Arabic to English
  • Translation from English to Arabic

The prizes for each branch are two hundred thousand (200,000) US dollars:

  • The winner of the first place will receive one hundred thousand (100,000) US dollars
  • The second place winner will receive sixty thousand (60,000) US dollars
  • The third place winner will receive forty thousand (40,000) US dollars


Candidacy and nomination conditions

  • The start date for candidacy and candidacy is announced on February 15 of each year.
  • The nomination and nomination of translations is currently limited to the field of humanities and social sciences.
  • Nominations are made through institutions (publishing houses, research centers, institutes, university departments, etc.), or through individual candidacy.
  • Candidacy and nomination must be for people who are alive when the results are announced.
  • It is not permissible to nominate more than one work for a single translator, and each institution is entitled to nominate three works for different translators, and the works of the candidate / nominee, an individual or an institution, must not contain racist or offensive opinions
  • The nominated translations must be published (and available on an ISBN) within a period of five years from the date of the announcement of the candidacy and nomination. (eg, for the 2023 cycle, the translation must have been published after February 2018).
  • The Award Steering Committee has the right to nominate translators or translated works that were not nominated.
  • The Steering Committee of the Award has the right to benefit from the winning works and the winners in the fields of introducing and promoting the award.
  • The winner of any of the Sheikh Hamad Awards for Translation and International Understanding is not entitled to run again for any of its categories before the lapse of five years.


* The jurisdiction of the courts in the State of Qatar exclusively, and the Arabic text of the basic award system shall be adopted in case of dispute.